Floyd County School Board

  • board members The Floyd County School Board members are officers of the Commonwealth of Virginia and the policy-making body for the Floyd County School Division. Responsibilities of the Board include, but are not limited to: adopting policy; explaining and enforcing school laws; managing the property of the school division; determining school district boundaries; establishing the school calendar; receiving public comment; and adopting broad goals and objectives for the school system's operation based on the identified needs of the community.

    Community members are welcome to address the Board during the citizens' comment time, which is held at the beginning of each School Board Meeting.

    Left to Right, Front: Laura Leroy, Vice-Chairman; Pamela Snead, Maria "Faye" Nichols
    Left to Right, Back: James Ingram, Chairman; Gene Bishop


Floyd County School Board Vacancy Announcement

  • The Floyd County School Board is seeking candidates for the interim appointment of the Locust Grove District School Board seat for an intervening term beginning in May 2019 through December 31, 2019 to fill the vacancy of resigning School Board Member Maria “Faye” Nichols. In accordance with the Code of Virginia, Section 24.2-228, when a vacancy occurs, the School Board shall appoint a qualified voter and resident of the election district in which the vacancy occurs.

    Interested applicants residing in the Locust Grove District of Floyd County, Virginia, are invited to submit a letter of interest to the Floyd County School Board Office to the attention of the Floyd County School Board Clerk, Janet C. Harris, at 140 Harris Hart Rd. NE, Floyd, VA  24091. Letters of interest will be accepted until April 18, 2019 at 4:00 p.m.  The Floyd County School Board will conduct interviews of the interested parties at a date and time to be determined. Any inquiries should be directed to Mr. James Ingram, School Board Chairman (540-597-7472).