About Floyd County Schools

  • Floyd County Public Schools operates five school buildings: four elementary (Pre-K to 7) and one comprehensive high school (8-12). Additional program offerings include: a special needs preschool program; full-day kindergarten program; alternative program for at-risk youth; adult education programs in cooperation with New River Community College (GED and GAE programs); extensive career and technical programs; special education programs addressing individual and unique abilities; differentiated instruction within the regular classroom for the gifted; dual enrollment; and advanced placement classes. Floyd County High School is on a four by four block schedule.

    Approximately 70% of Floyd County students continue their education beyond high school graduation at some post-secondary educational facility, while around 34% complete four-year degrees.